Go to the Ali Knight home page | skip to content

The First Cut

A best friend murdered.
A marriage going nowhere.
A deadly obsession.

Nicky's had more than her share of heartache. So when she meets a hot young stranger she thinks a little flirting can help her forget the past. She's married, but it's innocent enough. Except what starts as fun leads to a terrible ordeal, and a dark secret. Nicky's about to discover that the scars of love can last a lifetime.

Buy now

Reviews of The First Cut

‘This thriller will have you on the edge of your seat desperate to read more. Perfect for fans of James Patterson… I was left completely shocked with the twist at the end.’


‘The resourceful self-reliance of the imperilled heroine Nicky… the large cast and complicated happenings make an intriguing… read and Ali Knight writes well.'

Literary Review

‘It is some time since I have been so completely absorbed and taken out of myself… This is Ali Knight’s second book and it is hard to imagine how she can beat it, but I hope to goodness that she does!’


‘Top notch suspense! From first page to last, Knight delivers as she plunges an ordinary married couple into a steadily growing horror of past lies, fresh betrayals and murderous revenge.’

Lisa Gardner

‘A suspenseful Hitchcockian tale. One of the top ten crime books to take on holiday.’

The Daily Telegraph

Foreign editions

View more books